“Sustainable development” has become a global focal point. As the oldest and largest law school in Taiwan, NTU Law has the most comprehensive teaching and research capabilities in Taiwan. It is only natural that NTU Law upholds “sustainable development” as our core value.

In line with the UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), this page presents NTU Law’s positive influence and specific contributions by responding to the targets under the UN SDGs. All data is derived from NTU Social Responsibility and Sustainability Report.

Sustainable development is a long-term mission towards which NTU Law will continue to make efforts and progress persistently. We are confident that NTU Law will help make a difference in the sustainability of the local and international communities.

2022 Sustainability Report

16.8 17.6 17.10

WTO Chairs Programme Officially Launched –A Collaboration between WTO and NTU

The Asian Center for WTO & International Health Law and Policy (ACWH), a research center in NTU’s College of Law, has been selected as a World Trade Organization (WTO) Chair for a four-year term and officially launched the WTO Chairs Programme (WCP) on May 17, 2022. The program was initiated in 2010 to support academic institutions in developing and underdeveloped countries, to offer international trade-related courses, academic research, and other exchange activities to enhance their knowledge and understanding of the international trade system. The international chair is selected every four years, and 17 academic institutions worldwide, including NTU, were chosen to participate in the third phase of the WTO Chairs Programme.
In response to Taiwan’s accession to the WTO in 2002, NTU’s College of Law established the ACWH in 2003. ACWH has long been devoted to researching international trade law, health law and arbitration law, as well as serving as a government advisory body. Its recent research topics focus on the impact of COVID-19 on transportation, port, and trade restrictions, as well as emerging topics such as e-commerce, digital data, and digital trade. For ACWH, being selected as a WTO Chair represents international recognition of its education and research efforts, and ACWH will continue to make contributions in the field of global trade to support Taiwan’s public and private sectors in the future.

The ACWH, a research center in NTU’s College of Law, has been selected as a World Trade Organization (WTO) Chair for a four-year term and officially launched the WTO Chairs Programme (WCP) on May 17, 2022.


 “Know Your Rights!” NTU Legal Service Provides Consultation Services to the Public

NTU Legal Service is composed of third- and fourth-year undergraduate students as well as graduate students from NTU’s College of Law. Since its establishment in 1979, under the leadership of honorary advisor Professor Lian-Gong Chiou, and supervising professors Professor Shu-Huan Shyuu, Professor Ming-Chiang Lin, and Professor Wei-Yu Chen, NTU Legal Service has always adhered to its founding principles, using “Know Your Rights!” as its slogan. Every Saturday afternoon, they provide free legal consultation services to the public, and through interaction with the parties involved, they enhance students’ practical experience and inspire their sense of justice and dedication to society.
Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, NTU Legal Service started providing online consultation services. It ensured the public reliable support when facing legal difficulties and extended legal services beyond the limitations of physical space, benefiting people with legal consultation needs across the country. During the academic year 2021–2022, the NTU Legal Service handled a total of 290 consultation cases, with civil cases accounting for the highest proportion of these, followed by criminal and public law cases. Through these services, the NTU Legal Service hopes to help build a more comprehensive legal system in society and recruit more law students to join in to protect the rights and interests of the public.


NTU legal service cases in the 2021-22 academic year.

Previous Reports