Kuan-Ling Shen

  • Name: Kuan-Ling Shen
  • Education: LL.B. (NTU), LL.M. (NTU), Dr. jur. (Heidelberg)
  • Tel: 3366-8952
  • email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Research interests: Civil procedure, Non-contentious civil law, Arbitration law, Compulsory execution law, Bankruptcy law

Distinguished Professor Kuan-Ling Shen of the College of Law of National Taiwan University (NTU) graduated from NTU College of Law and earned her Ph.D. from Heidelberg University, Germany in 1999.Her research interests include civil procedure law, non-contentious law, family proceedings law, labor law, compulsory enforcement law, bankruptcy law, arbitration law and Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR). She focuses on comparative legal studies and dedicated herself to the civil judicial system reform in Taiwan. She received the Senior Fulbright Research Grant to be a visiting scholar at the School of Law at the University of California, Berkeley during the 2013-2014 academic year. She was also an exchange scholar at Hamburg University in 2018 and at Heidelberg University in 2019.

Professor Shen was the Vice Dean & Director of GIILS (Graduate Institute of Interdisciplinary Legal Studies) of the NTU College of Law during 2017-2019. She also serves as a board member of the Research Foundation of Civil Procedure Law, a member of the law commission of Civil Procedure Law of Judicial Yuan, and a member of the International Association of Procedural Law (IAPL). She has received an academic research award, Dr. Ta-Yu, Wu’s Memorial Award (吳大猷獎) from the National Science Council of Taiwan. She has published extensive articles on TSSCI (Taiwan Social Sciences Citation Index) journals and seven monographs on ADR, amendments to the Code of Civil Procedure, and the Family Proceedings Act. She has received many awards from NTU for her publications; moreover, she was elected as the chair professor of Yueh-Sheng Weng Legal Courses (翁岳生法學講座) in 2019 and received NTU Outstanding Social Service Award in 2021.